Home » Epilepsy » GNC Meeting

GNC Meeting

I went for the second meeting of the Chronic Illness support group meeting on Monday. Tried a different route with the public transport so arrived about 15 minutes late but that’s not such a big deal I guess. This time there were about 6 members not including me. 3 of them had relatives with dementia due to Alzheimer’s and that was the main topic of the meeting. It seems to be a very serious issue especially for the caretaker of someone with dementia. From what I heard, it can end up being a very stressful and depressing life. One of the members there broke into tears when she recalled what a strong person her grandmother had been and what she was like now with her demetia.GNCpic

For some reason I had the shivers when I was there and I don’t think it was due to the temperature of the room. Mohammed was the only member there from last month’s meeting besides myself. Interesting enough, we were the only men there besides the doctors. All the other attendees were women. I guess guys don’t generally go to support groups here. Mohammed was kind enough to give me a ride all the way back to my house that took about 45 mins. I hope to see more of him. Maybe he can be another buddy here.

Leave a Reply

