Home » Epilepsy » My song – The Seizure

My song – The Seizure

For the past few weeks, I have been taking a Coursera songwrting course. In that time, one of the songs I came up with was related to my life with epilepsy. It’s not that great or anything but I thought I’d share it with you all anyway as I’d love some personal feedback. Just 3 short versus and a chorus. I personally like the chorus best — that was the ‘inspired’ part. If you want a chuckle, you can listen to my horrible singing voice on a file I keep on soundclound.

 

Had this affliction since my birth
It doesn’t lead to any mirth
Controlled by my medication
Thought I was safe for the long run

It doesn’t last for long
But when the seizure takes me
I know that something’s wrongmusic_note
And when the seizure shakes me
I lose all control
And I lose touch with my soul

Got serious when I became a man
Led me to many a psychotic trance
Lost my job, lost my girl
Lost so much I cared for in the world

It doesn’t last for long
But when the seizure takes me
I know that something’s wrong
And when the seizure shakes me
I lose all control
And I lose touch with my soul

Now I deal with it day by day
No more leads to my dismay
It’s just a part of me now
Just living as life allows

It doesn’t last for long
But when the seizure takes me
I know that something’s wrong
And when the seizure shakes me
I lose all control
And I lose touch with my soul

Leave a Reply

